Back to Top


LINCOLN – Thirteen educators from Mexico were honored on Monday at the Capitol Building in appreciation of their service to Nebraska public education.

The 13 educators were teaching in the state as part of the Binational Migrant Education Teacher Exchange Program with the Department of Education.

The educators are Jorge Ramirez Agüero of Zacatecas, Luis Garza Aguilar of Ciudad Victoria, Lindsay Martinez Baldenegro of Hermosillo, Alethia Gomez Carrillo of Tampico, Erick Castañeda Enriquez of Guadalupe, Alejandra Quiñonez Esquer of Hermosillo, Luis Cardenas Gamez of Tepic, Edna Rivera Lόpez of Tampico, Alaide Terriquez Oliva of Guadalajara, Adriana Cepeda Olivares of Tampico, Maria Analhí Peña Reyes of Ciudad Obregon, Hilda Valadez Ruvalcaba of Guadalupe and Marissa Ibarra Trejo of Xalisco.

The educators taught at several public elementary schools in Alliance, Columbus, Madison, Omaha and Scottsbluff for several weeks starting in May or June. They shared their knowledge of Mexican art and culture and helped the students make their own piñatas, Ojos de Díos and learn some Spanish. They also taught the students about Mexico’s geography, food and famous Mexicans such as artist Frida Kahlo.

Their day began with a tour of the Capitol followed by the ceremony in the Rotunda where they were thanked for their service by Mexican Consulate Guadalupe Sanchez Salazar, the Commissioner of Education Dr. Matthew Blomstedt and Dept. of Education Migrant Education staff. Each educator shared a presentation on their home city and region of Mexico.

The ceremony concluded with Secretary of State John Gale awarding the educators honorary Nebraska citizenship. They will begin returning to Mexico in late June and July 2015.       

de. hector garcia day

The public is invited to a Proclamation Ceremony in Lincoln on July 8, 2015 to observe the signing of Dr. Hector P. Garcia Day in Nebraska. 

Governor Pete Ricketts will be signing the Proclamation to observe July 26, 2015 as Dr. Hector P. Garcia Day in the state. 

The ceremony will take place in the Capitol Building second floor Rotunda, beginning at 10 a.m. There is public parking available. Please inform the Nebraska Latino American Commission office if you are able to attend, in order to provide accommodations. You may call at 402-471-2791 or email


The State of Nebraska Governor's Office has released a list of current and upcoming openings on Boards and Commissions that are appointed by the Governor.

If interested, please complete the online application prior to the end of the month of their deadlines. Upcoming Deadlines:

June 2015:

  1. Accountability & Disclosure Commission
  2. Corn Development, Utilization & Marketing Board
  3. Environmental Quality Council
  4. Nebraska Exchange Stakeholder Commission
  5. Grape & Winery Board
  6. Commission on Housing & Homelessness
  7. Commission on Industrial Relations
  8. Nebraska Library Commission
  9. Commission on Problem Gambling
  10. Wheat Development, Utilization & Marketing Board
  11. Women's Health Initiative Advisory Council
  12. Nebraska Youth Council

July 2015:

  1. Aquaculture Board
  2. Beginning Farmer Board
  3. Child Abuse Prevention Fund Board
  4. County Attorney Standards Advisory Council
  5. Crime Victim's Reparation Committee
  6. Developmental Disabilities Advisory Council
  7. Grain Sorghum Development, Utilization & Marketing Board
  8. Jail Standards Board
  9. State Advisory Committee on Mental Health Services
  10. Niobrara Council
  11. Advisory Council on Public Water Supply
  12. State Records Board
  13. State Advisory Committee on Substance Abuse Services
  14. Wyuka Cemetery Board of Trustees


August 2015:

  1. Board of Appraisers for Education Lands
  2. Brand Committee
  3. Commission for the Protection of Children
  4. Ethanol Board
  5. Board of Health
  6. State Personnel Board
  7. Potato Development Committee
  8. Real Estate Commission
  9. Commission on Uniform State Law


September 2015:

  1. Nebraska Arts Council
  2. Collection Agency Licensing Board
  3. Early Childhood Interagency Coordinating Council
  4. Election Commissioner
  5. State Electrical Board
  6. Equal Opportunity Commission
  7. Fire Safety Appeals Board
  8. GIS Geographic Information Systems
  9. Hall of Fame
  10. Commission on Indian Affairs
  11. State Board of Landscape Architects
  12. Natural Gas Fuel Board
  13. Oil & Gas Conservation Commission
  14. Board of Parole
  15. Board of Public Accountancy
  16. Rural Health Advisory Commission
  17. State Emergency Response Commission SERC
  18. Suggestion Award Board

For a printer-friendly copy, click here. For a list of Board positions that are open due to resignations or unfilled positions, click here. To apply for a position, click here.

If you have questions about requirements for any of the Boards or Commissions listed please contact Kathleen Dolezal at 402-471-1971 or email:

Nebraska Latino American Commission © 2011 | Official Government Website | Privacy Security and Accessibility | Creative Commons and Open Source